loader image
ADD ANYTHING HERE OR JUST REMOVE IT…

Blog

admin

admin

Evolve Magazine Book Pick: Sari not Sari by Canadian Author Sonya Singh

By Lauren Walker Lee

A fresh, swoony, laugh-out-loud debut rom-com following the adventures of a woman trying to connect with her South Asian roots—and finding love in the process. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Uzma Jalaluddin.

Manny Dogra is the beautiful young CEO of Breakup, a highly successful company that helps people manage their relationship breakups. As preoccupied as she is with her business, she’s also planning her wedding to handsome architect Adam Jamieson while dealing with the loss of her beloved parents.

For reasons Manny has never understood, her mother and father, who were both born in India, always wanted her to become an “All American” girl. So that’s what she did. She knows next to nothing about her South Asian heritage, and that’s never been a problem—until her parents are no longer around, and an image of Manny that’s been Photoshopped to make her skin look more white appears on a major magazine cover. Suddenly, the woman who built an empire encouraging people to be true to themselves is having her own identity crisis.

But when an irritating client named Sammy Patel approaches Manny with an odd breakup request, the perfect solution presents itself: If they both agree to certain terms, he’ll give her a crash course in being “Indian” at his brother’s wedding

What follows is days of dancing and dal, masala and mehndi as Manny meets the lovable, if endlessly interfering, aunties and uncles of the Patel family, and, along the way, discovers much more than she could ever have anticipated.

Be careful of your soaps & moisturizers…

SonyaSinghis a former entertainment reporter turned communications professional who has followed her dream of telling stories in front of the camera and now behind the scenes. Her debut novel, Sari, Not Sari, is an ode to her own personal dating experiences, during which she honed the art of writing the perfect break-up email/text. Sonya lives in Toronto, Canada. You can follow her at sonyasinghbooks.com and on Twitter @sonyasingh and Instagram @sonyasinghwrites.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Start typing to see posts you are looking for.